Final Fantasy IV

Final Fantasy IV is a role-playing video game developed and published by Square (now Square Enix) in 1991 as a part of the Final Fantasy series. The game was originally released for the Super Famicom in Japan and has since then been rereleased for many other platforms with varying modifications. An enhanced remake with 3D graphics was released for the Nintendo DS in 2007 and 2008. The game was re-titled Final Fantasy II during its initial release outside of Japan as the original Final Fantasy II and III had not been released outside of Japan at the time. However, later localizations used the original title.

The game's story follows Cecil, a dark knight, as he tries to prevent the sorcerer Golbez from seizing powerful crystals and destroying the world. He is joined on this quest by a frequently changing group of allies, several of whom die, become injured, or become affected by an unfortunate occurrence. Final Fantasy IV introduced innovations that became staples of the Final Fantasy series and role-playing games in general. Its "Active Time Battle" system was used in five subsequent Final Fantasy games, and unlike prior games in the series gave each character their own unchangeable character class.


Coming soon...

Game Information

PlayStation 1
Square Electronic Arts
NA Release Date
June 29, 2001
MVGL User Score
7.9 by 96 user(s)
MVGL Difficulty
Added by
155 User(s)

This game also exists on:
Nintendo DS Nintendo Super NES PC Mobile PlayStation 3 Sony PSP Sony PS Vita Nintendo Wii U Nintendo Wii WonderSwan Color

Recently Completed By

Coming soon...

Recently Favorited By

Coming soon...